a question on dosing a spinal anesthetic

Started by nma, May 02, 2007, 09:18:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nma

At my institution, spinal anesthesia for C-sections are done with 1.4ml of 0.75% bupivicane, 200 ug intrathecal morphine, and 25ug Fentanyl for the average female. But I have seen different attendings (I'm a resident) change the 0.75% Bupivicane amount from 1.2 to 2.0 ml based on the patient's height. But none of my attendings can refer me to a chart or published document as to how to dose based on height (although they all seem to feel very strongly about how much to give to a particular patient). Where is it published how many milligrams of bupivicane you should give to a  patient of a particular height to get a particular level with your spinal? Similarly, how about for non -Ob spinals like a bilateral knee replacement?

I'd greatly appreciate your input.

jafo1964

We use 0.5% hyperbaric bupivacaine 10 to 12.5 mg +/_ Fentanyl 25 mcg. This is the standard recommended dose in most literature. If your patient is short statured you may reduce the dose to 8 to 10 mg or stay with the same dose but concentrate on proper positoning of patient after block to limit its cephalad spread and also tackle the ensuing hypotension rapidly and aggressively. Some consultants get away with leeser amount of bupivacaine. I much rather would have a slightly higher block than a block that wears off requiring some form of IV supplementation. Since these pateints are potentially full stomach, supplementation takes the safety of RA technique away