0 (0%)
not satisfactory
0 (0%)
excellent
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 0

Voting closed: December 31, 2006, 02:37:43 PM

frontier

i, dr.simant kumar jha,writing from ranchi,india.i am an anaesthesiologist by profession .on 19.12.2006 a laprotomy done for ruptured liver abscess with rt pleural effusion done under thoracic epidural given by me.space chosen wa t8-t9.catheter was placed.as oxygen saturation was only 85% preoperatively & patient was breathless with rt lung involved,crepitations found on auscultation.i gave initially 10 cc of 2%lignocainewith adrenaline.later on 5 cco this one again was given as top up.atoat of 10 cc of .5%bupivacaine given through epidural catheter.100 mg of tramadol also given through catheter.50 cc of iv ketamine given initially.again 50 mg of iv ketamine iv given.8 mg of dexamethasone iv given intraoperatively.atotal of 1800 ml of iv fluid given through rt internal jugular vein which also included 300 cc of fresh blood.only once BP CAME DOWN to 90/60mm of hg.a total of 12 mg iv ephedrine used.urine output 440 cc post op.BP was 11o/70 mm of hg postoperatively.next day patient fine ,responding.intraoperatively oxygen given through mask at frequent intervals

swatantramishra

well i dont know the fun of getting a case of RUPTURED LIVER ABCESS WITH RIGHT SIDED PLURAL EFFUSION SIGNIFICANT ENOUGH TO COMPROMISE SPO2 to be done under epidural anaesthesia.this is an obviouss emergency in which ensuring the safety of the patients is of paramount importance,this man was definitely sick and required adequate respect for his condition,what was contraindication of not getting the case done under G.A.,in other words what advantage d o we gain operating such case under TEA. although TEA might be a good idea to take care of the postoperative pain.what was the coagulation profile like

frontier

hi,